Q: The Union initiative roll determines how many units he gets to activate. Does this limit the number or "units" per se or the total? That is, if the Union is allowed to activate two "units", does that allow him to activate (only) two leaders -- and all units that can be commanded by those leaders, or only two units, regardless of command?

A: Actually it is neither of the above and more restrictive. A leader can never activate units that are not in his command. A single leader (only) is ever activated at a time in a given Activate Leader action. The initiative roll is just used to decide how many units of that leader's command are able to move in that action.

Example: It is Scenario 6 and all 5 units subordinate to Porter are within his command radius. Union wins initiative with a 5. Porter can activate any two units of his command for marches. No units/ leaders of any other command can march, nor can Porter move a third unit. So in all cases 3 of Porter's 5 units are unable to move. Now if the Union player rolled a 6 for initiative it would be a different story and all 5 units could move.

Q: I noticed that there are several Confederate units marked "HO", presumably for Holmes' command. I also notice that there is no Holmes leader, presumably by design. Is it fair to assume the the Rebel HO units cannot be attached to other commands and must be activated separately?

A: Yes, that is correct. Also true for Huger ("HU"). They were deemed too incompetent for even a leader counter. Their units must be activated separately. However, in the advanced game, the brigades from these leaders' forces can be attached to other Confederate units.

Q: Can army leaders stack with independent units, e.g. Stoneman's brigade and the Richmond garrison regiments?

A: Yes, consider all units of that side subordinate to the army commander.

Q: Can army leaders transfer to a different unit than a corps or division leader does during an "activate leader" action?

No in the case where the corps or divsion leader is transferring to a different hex from the army leader. Only the active leader actually makes a transfer to a new unit during an activate leader action. Army leaders can transfer with them, but not off somewhere else.

Q: Can a leader assault with only an artillery unit?

A: Yes.

Q: Which retreat chart is used for a voluntary defender's retreat?

A: It is treated as a normal retreat, not a rout. Which chart is used also depends on the presence of enemy ZOC, so it could still be a combination of the two charts.

Q: Can a unit retreat/rout into a hex containing an enemy control marker?

A: Yes, and if an infantry unit is retreating, the control marker is flipped during the retreat or rout.

Q: Can units attack across enemy pontoon bridges? The rules say the pontoon is destroyed at the end of an enemy march, so during a march would seem to be ok.

A: No. This was omitted from the rules. It should say at the start of Page 16: "Enemy units may not cross that bridge in a march, retreat, advance after combat, or attack."

Q: Does a Union gunboat on patrol along a major river prevent the Confederates from building a major river bridge?

A: Yes, it does. This was an omission from the rules. Add the following restriction to both PONTOON BRIDGE RESTRICTIONS (10.1) and REPAIR RESTRICTIONS (10.3):

OTHER SECTIONS:


Back to GCACW Home 
Visit Hasbro!

Great Campaigns of the American Civil War, Stonewall Jackson's Way, Here Come the Rebels, Roads to Gettysburg, Stonewall in the Valley, Stonewall's Last Battle and On to Richmond are trademarks of Avalon Hill Games, Inc. used with permission. Avalon Hill Games, Inc., a Hasbro affiliate. All rights reserved.

Visit Hasbro Interactive!

Send mail to ebeach@gcacw.com with questions or comments about this web site.
Copyright 2001 Multi-Man Publishing, LLC        Privacy Statement       Last modified: June 16, 2001