Part 3: Advanced Game Questions

Q: The Union has only one amphibious movement marker; does this mean that only one Union unit at a time can be embarked?

A: You could theoretically have two Union units embarked at once, as long as their manpower was less than or equal to 22. (There is only 1 counter though). You never normally see that however because of the risk of a turn ending early. Once you get someone embarked you usually want to move him ASAP because he is disembarked automatically if the Action Cycle ends.

Q: Is Union amphibious movement allowed up the York River if just Glocester Point is cleared of Confederate infantry/artillery?

A: No it isn't. The Union player has to clear both Yorktown and Gloucester Point. The advantages to taking Gloucester before Yorktown is that the Union can get the special +1 gunboat bonus when attacking Yorktown and can threaten an end-around on the Confederate line by moving up through Gloucester County on the north side of the York. In addition, if Gloucester Point is already in Union hands, the Union player can then immediately move up the York once Yorktown falls.

Q: I was a bit confused on legal amphibious moves. By ‘side’ of the river, do you mean coastline? Which of the following moves is legal (continuing your example from the rules?

A: They are both legal (and obviously you would use (b) since it is faster). The reference to "side" really means side of a hex. So if you embark at Smith's Landing, you are on the west side of the Hill Marsh peninsula and can't move to 3825 without going up and around the north side of the Hill Marsh (3725-3724-3823-3824-3825). Don't think that the "side" rule means you can't embark on one side of the river and move to the other side -- that is obviously okay. You can freely move back and forth from one side of the river to another if that makes the path shorter. Something like N3317-N3216-N3116-N3015 is legal.

Q. The rules state: "Gunboats may provide 2 kinds of support ... defensive support OR bombardment." Can they do both in a single day-turn, or do they have to pick one type of mission for a particular day-turn?

A: They can do both in the same day-turn. If they hit the limit on the number of times they perform one of these activities, they can still perform the other.

Q: Can Gunboat-2 (which is confined to Hampton Roads until the Virginia is destroyed) still take part in the special gunboat bombardment of Yorktown/Gloucester Pt. or is it totally inoperative until the Virginia is sunk?

A: It is totally inoperative until the Virginia is destroyed.

Q: When exactly is the defensive support from the gunboats designated? Can the Union player wait to see the outcome of an assault command roll before allocating one of the four gunboat defensive support usages?

A: It is allocated during the step labeled "Determine Die Roll Modifiers". That means it is after all command rolls have already been completed.

Q: Can an embarked unit in Fort Monroe be added to the strength that attacks Norfolk?

A: Yes.

Q: The set up calls for more "2" manpower chits than are supplied. How should one handle this?

A: You should be fine if you observe the suggestions about which units in off-map boxes should get strength markers. Basically only Ft. Monroe, Valley, Rappahannock, and Norfolk should be filled with units with strength markers. The text that explains that is at the top of 37.0.

OTHER SECTIONS:



Back to GCACW Home 
Visit Hasbro!

Great Campaigns of the American Civil War, Stonewall Jackson's Way, Here Come the Rebels, Roads to Gettysburg, Stonewall in the Valley, Stonewall's Last Battle and On to Richmond are trademarks of Avalon Hill Games, Inc. used with permission. Avalon Hill Games, Inc., a Hasbro affiliate. All rights reserved.

Visit Hasbro Interactive!

Send mail to ebeach@gcacw.com with questions or comments about this web site.
Copyright © 2000 Multi-Man Publishing, LLC        Privacy Statement       Last modified: March 01, 2000